Thing 4: RSS, Personal Home Pages and Feed Readers

The magic of RSS feeds? How much MORE clutter can my life endure? That’s how I’ve always felt about RSS readers. How I deal with all those posts in one place? What if I don’t read them for a day, let alone a week?I tried it a few years ago and it was overwhelming for me. Because of thing 4 I decided to give it another try. I went to Google Reader to see what had accumulated since I’d last visited. Well, apparently nothing because Google Reader was discontinued last year I discovered. So, I had to start over. I had absolutely ZERO interest in having feeds delivered to my email inbox. I get far too much email as it is.  First I went to Netvibes. Wow! This seems like a powerful tool but it was just a little bit too much for highly distractable brain to start with. I’ll come back to Netvibes. So, I went to Feedly. I was much more basic and simpler for me to grasp. I have to admit it IS nice not to have to visit site after site to see what’s new and exciting. I can definitely see how this will save me time both professionally and personally! Feedly is really simple – exactly what I needed. But now I’m kind of excited to try Netvibes and see what else I gather all in one place.   

Leave a comment